Volunteering & Retirement

I realized today that I might volunteer too much. Or maybe I get volunteered to do things I don’t really want to do. I wonder why I think that I don’t get many of my required projects done or completed. The problem is when you volunteer there is no “priority” for completion. Everyone thinks you have “spare cycles” for them to assign you work to be completed. There is no stick, no threats if the project doesn’t get done.
My sister asked for help in starting a blog. I complied. I laid out a list of things she needed to do. She did some but asked me or told me she would get the rest over to me so I could complete her task. Last week she informed me of a due date when she needed the blog working and needed her web site up and running.
I took a few days to digest the news. I wrote back that I am very busy with all my “non-prioritized” volunteering. My son is getting married; Mom is in the Hospice/nursing care center; I am referring soccer and coaching my daughter U8 team; I thought that I could not get everything done by June 1st. I asked if she didn’t know someone she could get some local help.
Got a note yesterday.
“…my friend is a PC wiz (there’s a new title) she’ll get it done….”
My response Great!; one more project I didn’t own is off my plate. Now to tackle fixing the lawn mower.

2 thoughts on “Volunteering & Retirement”

  1. Good blog, good topic. I think you’ve given me an idea for a blog: The Art of Saying No! Interesting how that just came up for me recently. Friends and colleagues thinking I’m not working full time will ask me to do something for them – more somethings than working full time. It’s one thing carving out time to sit with my granddaughters and serve on couple of non-profit boards but because some colleague has a special project that s/he needs help with, I’m not free. I mean, I’m not free, free. Krogers doesn’t say, “oh, you volunteered your time? Oh well, here then, no charge.”

    By the way, thanks for not volunteering me for the web site project. I heard you were involved and thought: well that’s nice of Joe. He must have a lot of spare time to volunteer to do that!

    Like

Comments are closed.