MapMyRun.com – Training Log for jjcylk

MapMyRun.com – Training Log for jjcylk.

I am creating a separate blog for my training. I am fighting rheumatoid arthritis (RA) and find it difficult to maintain a constant schedule. This past month I am having the worst flare up I have had in ten years. I was first diagnosed with RA in 1997. I had just turned 46. I couldn’t believe how sore I would get. I remember not being able to pull up the covers at night. My hand wouldn’t gripe without pain.

In the late part of 2000 I started with Enberal. It was like a magic potion. I was able to run and referee soccer again.  So I was on it till late last year, maybe August I mentioned to my RA doc, that I was getting somewhat sore. I had torn up a knee & got it scoped in July. Maybe that’s all it was. I don’t know but he convinced me to switched to Humera, another biologic drug, a TNF. It worked in much the same way as Enberal but instead of two shot per week I would only need to give myself one every other week. A lot less drugs in the frig. Anyways now I am back to being really sore. So it prevents me from going out everyday.

I have set some goals for this year & still have a good shot at reaching them. This log will be dedicated to that activity.

