If I Could Go Back in Time

Basic Training

My wife always thinks I regret too many things but really it is only a few. When I was in the Army nobody wanted to go to Viet Nam but now they are the only veterans who are acknowledged. I was stationed at Ft. Gordon, GA. We were volunteering to go to the war but we were constantly refused because we were the only ones trained in running a stockade & we were needed to train the new "turnkeys".

So yes I do regret some things more than others but I am ambivalent about not going to Viet Nam. I respect everyone that went & especially those that never made it home…alive or dead. It would have been so easy to go live in Canada. I knew I had to be true to the US and to my family. We are all born to do what is right. For me, this was the right thing to do.

Powered by Plinky

