That Darn Cat

100_6054

Hard to believe but  Indygo, the cat is gone. This picture is about a year old. We never really knew how old she was. My oldest daughter rescued her in 2000 or so. When she moved into a house that was her married friends, the husband at first so OK but with-in a few weeks told her either she moved or the cat had to leave. One thing that Indygo did was “talked” a lot. She was part Siamese that way.  She would always meow in the morning to let me know she was on the landing and wanted upstairs. She would boss the dog always. When we called people & sang “Happy Birthday”, Indygo would sing right along with us. She was a people cat.  When my older son would come home from high school sports & lay on the couch, Indygo was right there with him. He was never bothered by her even thought other cats would make him sneeze & his nose would really itch.

This summer she stopped eating. It took us a couple of weeks to realize nobody was really putting new food in her bowl. After a bunch a vet visits we knew she was going to be struggling. At first we thought she was pulling through but the pain in her jaw was pretty bad. She would eat a very little every so often. Then she would eat everything in sight. Her coat was pretty dull, her hair was falling out in clumps. She never socialized with the family much at all, just sleeping on the heat vent or staying in the basement, on a seat cushion next to the warm furnace. The decision relates to Long Term Care in a perverse way. I hated when my sisters had us move my Mom to a nursing home up north. I was sure there was more we could do. What was best for the person or the cat wasn’t always best for me the son/caretaker.

I was really torn as what to do. The vet wasn’t sure if surgery would even help & was concerned because of the lack a strength of a cats jaw bone. I finally put her to rest Monday. This is the second animal I had to put down. It never gets easier. I always think I hear her prowling around the house. The dog must miss her. They were always together, playing or fighting.

