Titles & Tag Lines

For a long time my blog was titled:ALL ABOUT US.” I just changed it this last month. I needed something that expressed I am learning to accept retirement. It is not as easy as just stopping to go to work everyday. One thing I discovered lately is that I don’t need to report my activities & accomplishment to anybody. I have a retired friend who counts and tally all the trailer loads of leaves he picks up everyday, every year, for the past 20 years. Yes he is productive and proud of the effort but to whom is he reporting that information or why?

One of the first books I read when I retired in 2009 was “Creative Aging” by Marjory Zoet Bankson.In a practical and useful way, Marjory Zoet Bankson explores the spiritual dimensions of retirement and aging. She offers creative ways for you to share your gifts and experience, particularly when retirement leaves you questioning who you are when you are no longer defined by your career.” (From GOODREADS review). Blankson  taught me that I no longer need to be defined as a “Project Manager”, an “Accountant”, you no longer were your career. You no longer have to be defined by the answer to the question “What do you do for a living?” My answer now is “Living.”

I like my title but do I love it? But now I think I will go without a TAGLINE.

Back to the Title; the more I think of it I still like “All About Us”. I am writing about myself. I don’t want to be defined by what I was but by what I am. I never like going back either; reusing the old title. How do I go forward. Maybe that is what I am more about: “GOING FORTH”. That sounds too something. How about something as simple as “LIVING”? I think I will try that out.

